Beth Mead, Keira Walsh and Leah Williamson after Lionesses success

Lionesses Beth Mead, Keira Walsh and Leah Williamson named on shortlist for FIFA’s The Best Women’s Player of the Year award after helping guide England to glory at Euro 2022

  • FIFA have named their 14-player shortlist for The Best Women’s Player award 
  • Three of England’s victorious Lionesses are in the running for the prize
  • Beth Mead will be one of the favourites after her stunning Euro 2022 tournament
  • READ: Julian Alvarez a shock contender for FIFA’s The Best Men’s Player award 

Beth Mead, Keira Walsh and Leah Williamson are all in the running for FIFA’s ‘The Best’ Women’s Player of the Year award.

They have been named on a 14-player shortlist which includes a host of stars from the English Women’s Super League.

Mead, Walsh and Williamson all starred as England won the European Championship last year.

Beth Mead will be one of the favourites to win FIFA’s The Best Women’s Players of the Year award

Keira Walsh (left) and Lionesses’ Euro 2022 captain Leah Williamson are also nominated

Arsenal striker Mead arguably stands the best chance of winning the award after she clinched both the golden boot and player of the tournament at Euro 2022 after scoring six goals with five assists.

Since the Euro’s she has finished second in the Ballon d’Or award, while winning the BBC Sports Personality of the Year last month. 

Barcelona star Walsh was another one of England’s starring performers and it was her cross that assisted Ella Toone’s opener in a 2-1 victory for the Lionesses in extra time.  

Ballon d’Or winner Alexia Putellas missed the Euros but has made the 14-player shortlist

Mead and her Arsenal team-mate and partner Vivianne Miedema are both in the running

Arsenal’s Williamson captained the Lionesses and became the first England captain since Bobby Moore at the 1966 World Cup to lift a major trophy. 

One of the favourites to win the award will be Alexia Putellas – who also clinched the prize last year.

She helped Barcelona win a clean sweep of domestic trophies during the 2021-22 season, however was kept of the Euros for Spain due to an ACL tear. 

In total there are five players from the WSL who have been shortlisted including Mead and her partner and team-mate Vivianne Miedema, Williamson and Chelsea pair Jessie Fleming and Sam Kerr.

Others also nominated include Barcelona’s Aitana Bonmati, free-agent Debinha who left North Carolina Courage last month, Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Wendie Renard, Alex Morgan of San Diego Wave and Wolfsburg pair Lena Oberdorf and Alexandra Popp

Shortlist for FIFA’s The Best Women’s Player of the Year award 

Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona and Spain)

Debinha (Free agent and Brazil)

Jessie Fleming (Chelsea and Canada)

Ada Hegerberg (Lyon and Norway)

Sam Kerr (Chelsea and Australia)

Beth Mead (Arsenal and England)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal and Holland)

Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave and USA)

Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg and Germany)

Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg and Germany)

Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)

Wendie Renard (Lyon and France)

Keira Walsh (Barcelona and England)

Leah Williamson (Arsenal and England) 

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article