Scotland coach Gregor Townsend names 12 uncapped players in squad

Scotland coach Gregor Townsend names 12 uncapped players in his 42-man squad for autumn Tests, alongside captain Stuart Hogg and star player Finn Russell

  • Scotland’s four British and Irish Lions from the South Africa tour all feature
  • Stuart Hogg, Duhan Van Der Merwe, Finn Russell and Ali Price are all included
  • Gregor Townsend has also picked 12 players who have not been capped 
  • Scotland face Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan in four Autumn Tests  

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named a 42-man squad for the Autumn Nations Series Tests against Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan.

Scotland’s full British and Irish Lions contingent involved in this summer’s South Africa tour feature, including captain Stuart Hogg, wing Duhan Van Der Merwe and half-backs Finn Russell and Ali Price.

Townsend has also selected 12 uncapped players, with that group featuring the likes of Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Dylan Richardson and Pierre Schoeman.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named a 42-man squad for the Autumn Tests

Bath’s Josh Bayliss is among 12 uncapped players called up to the Scotland squad 

Scotland open their autumn campaign against Tonga on October 30 and end it against Japan three weeks later.

Other newcomers include Rory Darge, Luke Crosbie and a quartet of uncapped Glasgow Warriors backs in Rufus McLean, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Sione Tuipulotu.

‘There have been some notable performances from both our home-based players and those at clubs outside of Scotland, which has enabled us as coaches to select a group which are playing well and will be motivated across the four games,’ Townsend told Scottish Rugby.

‘We also feel that this is the right time to bring in some younger players, given their early-season form.

Townsend includes captain Stuart Hogg and fly-half Finn Russell after their Lions involvement 

‘They have created opportunities for themselves to represent their country, and we believe that they will thrive in the Test match environment.

‘We face four tough matches in four weeks and Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan each present a different challenge and an opportunity to perform in front of our people at BT Murrayfield.

‘It’s great to hear that we will now play Australia in front of a capacity crowd at BT Murrayfield, and it means a huge amount to the players to have this level of support.’ 


Backs: M Bennett (Edinburgh), D Graham (Edinburgh), J Dobie (Glasgow Warriors), C Harris (Gloucester), A Hastings (Gloucester), S Hogg (Exeter), G Horne (Glasgow Warriors), D Hoyland (Edinburgh), S Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), H Jones (Harlequins), B Kinghorn (Edinburgh), D Van Der Merwe (Worcester), R McLean (Glasgow Warriors), A Price (Glasgow Warriors), F Russell (Racing 92), M Scott (Leicester), K Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), R Thompson (Glasgow Warriors), S Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors).

Forwards: E Ashman (Sale Sharks), J Bayliss (Bath), J Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), F Brown (Glasgow Warriors), L Crosbie (Edinburgh), R Darge (Glasgow Warriors), M Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Z Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), G Gilchrist (Edinburgh), N Haining (Edinburgh), R Harley (Glasgow Warriors), J Hodgson (Edinburgh), O Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), M McCallum (Glasgow Warriors), S McInally (Edinburgh), D Richardson (Cell C Sharks), J Ritchie (Edinburgh), S Skinner (Exeter), P Schoeman (Edinburgh), R Sutherland (Worcester), M Sykes (Edinburgh), G Turner (Glasgow Warriors), H Watson (Edinburgh).

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article