Fury's long count against Wilder was 'error or corruption', Rogan says

UFC commentator Joe Rogan claims Tyson Fury’s ‘long count’ after being knocked down by Deontay Wilder was ‘an error or CORRUPTION’, as he accuses the referee of ‘panicking’

  • Tyson Fury defended his WBC belt by defeating Deontay Wilder in Las Vegas
  • Fury was twice knocked down in the fourth round but clambered to his feet 
  • On the second occasion, viewers claimed Fury benefitted from a long count 
  • Russell Mora had paused his count to tell Wilder to move into a neutral corner 
  • Joe Rogan believes this decision was ‘an error or corruption’ from the referee 

UFC commentator Joe Rogan believes that ‘an error or corruption’ marred Tyson Fury’s trilogy fight against Deontay Wilder, after the Gypsy King was accused of benefitting from a longer-than-average count.

Fury triumphed over his heavyweight rival earlier this month, having knocked him out in the 11th round in Las Vegas, but was forced to battle through a series of heavy blows that twice left him down on the canvas in the fourth. 

Eagle-eyed viewers, and a number of fighters past and present, were quick to claim that Fury was afforded a lengthy count, allowing him to get back to his feet and carry on scrapping – and Rogan has thrown his weight behind the theory.

 Joe Rogan claims an ‘error or corruption’ marred Tyson Fury’s trilogy fight with Deontay Wilder

Referee Russell Mora interrupted his count to tell Wilder to return to a neutral corner on the second occasion, and Rogan believes this proved to be a crucial mistake.

Voicing his opinion on The Joe Rogan Experience, he said: ‘This is what happened. The referee is supposed to go “One, two…” when the guy goes down.

‘But if for any reason he has to interrupt the count, you’re supposed to pick up the count where the ringside counter has it.

 Fury was given a generous eight-count after Russell Mora told Wilder to go to a neutral corner

‘So there’s a guy who’s counting ringside, and he’ll keep the count going. So if you’re at “One, two,” and then you’re like “Go to a neutral corner,” that guy is supposed to be like “three, four, five,” but he didn’t.

‘He went back to it, “three, four,” but the guy had already been down for a couple seconds. Without a doubt, it was a long count. I think it’s an error or corruption. Most likely an error, most likely the guy’s panicking.’

Daniel Cormier criticised the referee’s decision, too. The former two-division UFC champion agreed with commentator Andre Ward, who was left unconvinced by the count, and tweeted saying that Fury was potentially let off the hook.    

‘The count was crazy slow,’ Cormier tweeted. ‘(The referee) isn’t supposed to stop counting to tell Deontay to go to his corner.’

The Gypsy King was twice sent crashing to the canvas by Wilder in a dramatic fourth round

Former UFC champion Daniel Cormier also believes the count was ‘crazy slow’ in favour of Fury

MMA fighter Dustin Poirier shared the same opinion, tweeting: ‘That was a slow count… we gotta (sic) fight!’  

It has since been revealed, however, that Wilder will only have himself to blame for the lengthy count, because he failed to head to a neutral corner after flooring Fury for the second time in the fourth round.

According to the rules set out by the Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports, Mora was within his rights to stop his count.

The guidelines state that a downed boxer’s opponent must be in a neutral corner while any count is being made, and the referee has the power to stop their count if a fighter has failed to do so.

Fury knocked out Wilder in the 11th round in Las Vegas to round off the enthralling trilogy fight

They read: ‘When a knockdown occurs, the downed boxer’s opponent shall go to the furthest neutral corner and remain there while the count is being made.

‘The referee may stop counting if the opponent fails to go to the neutral corner, and resume the count where he/she left off when the opponent reports to or returns to the neutral corner.’ 

Fury was quick to deny that he was affected by Wilder’s powerful swings, despite being knocked to the ground before he fought back to defend his title.  

‘I wasn’t hurt,’ he said. ‘You get hit, you wake up on the floor. I got up and was very conscious the whole time. 

After retaining his title, Fury insisted that he was not ‘hurt’ when Wilder sent him to the ground

‘I was one punch away from knocking him out in the whole fight.

‘I am the greatest heavyweight champion of my era, without a doubt. Number one. If you play with fire long enough you will get burned.’

Wilder, meanwhile, will now be ruled out of fighting until April after being handed a medical suspension.  

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article